Skip to main content

Observation SHD (Prescribed Bodies): List

This page lists who are the prescribed bodies for SHD

Prescribed bodies list

The prescribed bodies for strategic housing development applications are listed in the following table.

A local, regional or planning authority
A State authority. For example:
• A Government minister
• The Commissioners of Public Works (OPW)
A body referred to in article 28 or 137 of the Planning and Development Regulations 2001, as amended. For example:
An airport operator Health Service Executive (HSE)
An Chomhairle Ealaíon The Heritage Council
An Taisce Inland Fisheries Ireland
CIÉ Irish Aviation Authority
Commission for Railway Regulation Irish Water
Commission for Regulation of Utilities National Transport Authority
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Transport Infrastructure Ireland (TII)
Fáilte Ireland Údarás na Gaeltachta
Health and Safety Authority (HSA) Waterways Ireland
Royal Irish Academy
A development agency. For example:
• The Industrial Development Agency (Ireland)
• Enterprise Ireland
• The Shannon Free Airport Development Company Limited
• The National Building Agency
• The Grangegorman Development Agency
A Transboundary State (cross border) that is a member of the European Union other than Ireland or a party to the Transboundary Convention.
Any other person prescribed by the Minister for the purposes of Part IX of the Planning and Development Act 2000

Section 169 of the Planning and Development Act 2000 covers the making of planning schemes for strategic development zones. Under article 179 of the Planning and Development Regulations 2001, the following are designated as prescribed authorities for section 169 of the Planning and Development Acts:
• a regional authority whose area includes a draft strategic development zone planning scheme, and
• a planning or local authority whose area is within or adjacent to the strategic development zone site(s).